Decade of Champions

In conjunction with Semans 1st Annual Old Fashioned Saturday night August 8th, 2015 the Wheat Kings Decade of Champions memorabilia which had been displayed in the Saskatchewan Hockey hall of Fame in Swift Current since their induction in 2012 was brought to Semans by former Wheat Kings Claude Finch and Gib Murney.

Helping with the arrangement of items in the new display case at the Semans Recreation Centre were locals Jay Holmes & Marty Lidgren.

Other former players on hand were Lloyd Masur, Glen Murray, Maynard Phillips, Frank Phillips, Cal Pickrell. A number of spouses joined in the occasion to renew old acquantances.

The decade of champions were so named because of their success over a ten year span from the 1954/55 season to the 1963/64 season. During that period of time the Wheat Kings captured five senior ā€œCā€ provincial titles in addition to five Last Mountain Hockey League titles. The team was also known as the class of small town hockey in Sask. A reputation that came with ten years of success.

The Semans Wheat Kings success story was no accident It was the result of hard work by a dedicated executive who demanded superior small town hockey for a large number of avid knowledgeable fans.

View the Semans Wheat Kings Hall of Famers website at: Former players can submit their photo and story if it is not on the website.

Visit the display at the Semans Recreation Centre which is usually open Monday & Thursday afternoon, at that time you can also join us to play pool.

Tuesday to Friday a key can be obtained at the Village Office and/or from Rec Centre executive members at anytime.